Devilishly easy deviled eggs

Few weeks back I decided that I can cook up for a dinner party for seven…along with my mom of course or else I would be all over the place in her “space” in the house causing her to panic like crazy and eventually me. I thought of making a few make ahead appetizers so that I don’t end up running around like a headless chicken at the last moment. And one dish which surely can be made ahead are deviled eggs. They are perfect for a party as they can be made hours before serving and do not require toiling. They look really cute too, that is if you decide to pipe the yolk mixture. You can easily use a disposable piping bag and make the eggs look picture perfect! Here is the recipe:

Deviled eggs with spicy red pepper sauce

Ingredients:
8 hard boiled eggs
1 tbsp chopped spring onion
1 tbsp chopped parsley
2 tsp mustard sauce (can be adjusted to taste)
1/2 tsp red chili powder
3 tbsp mayonnaise (you can add more if you want to make the filling creamier but I wanted to cut down on the fat)
Freshly cracked pepper
salt to taste
Parsley to garnish the eggs

Method:

  1. Peel 8 hard boiled eggs and then cut them in half without breaking the white
  2. Gently remove the yolk from each half and place it into a bowl
  3. Add mayonnaise, mustard, red chili powder, spring onions, parsley, salt and pepper to the yolks and mix till it forms a smooth paste
  4. Put the yolk mix in a piping bag and pipe it into the egg white halves
  5. Garnish with parsley.

I chose to serve the deviled eggs with a spicy roasted red pepper sauce to have a nice hit of spice too! For the sauce I do not have a fixed recipe..as I just whipped it up last minute.

I blended the following to get 1 cup of Red pepper sauce:
2 roasted bell peppers
a small handful of parsley
2-3 soaked dried red chilies (if fresh red chilies are available you can use those)
3-4 cloves of garlic
salt
pepper
juice of half a lime
and olive oil to form a smooth sauce.

Along with the deviled eggs the “menu” of the party also included Corn canapes, BBQ chicken drumsticks, herb and chili crispies with mayo mustard dip, feta mushrooms, spaghetti bolognese, pan-fried paneer with herb rice, tomato sauce and potato wedges and blueberry cheesecake ice cream …which I didn’t end up serving because I had an issue with the freezer and the ice cream didn’t set! And I do not have a picture of the paneer dish but here are the rest 🙂

Happy stress-free partying! 😀

I have shared the pictures of the dinner party in Knead with love’s Facebook album.

One thought on “Devilishly easy deviled eggs

Leave a Reply

